The culprit behind failed marriages

Loving couple holdind on the hands and sunsetAlthough there is no one reason why marriages fail, infidelity has proven to be one of the most common perpetrators.  It is difficult to know exactly how many people really cheat within their marriage because keeping track of the reasons for all failed marriages certainly is an impossible task.  We hear the argument all the time that half of marriages that end in divorce are as a result of infidelity.  Is this really true?  A research published in the Journal of Marital and Family Therapy stated that 57 percent of men admitted to committing infidelity in any relationship they’ve had while 54 percent of women admitted to the same.

Infidelity is not an easy issue to deal with.  I remember the day I found out that my ex-husband was having an affair with someone else how it made me feel.  At first I was hurt, then angry, then depressed – to the point that I felt like dying.  It took a lot for me to pull myself together and realize that there was nothing wrong with me; that I was just as worthy as the other woman – beautiful, smart with a good sense of humor; and an awesome mother.  But all these qualities did not stop my ex-husband from carrying on affairs with other women who were not as educated and ambitious as I was.

One woman and I used to quarrel all the time as if we were in a competition for a trophy.  And the truth is, he was no Romeo! But when you are in a situation you are so blinded and your head is so mixed-up that you don’t even realize that you deserve better.  It was not until I had the courage to say “enough” I realized that he had a problem – not me.  That he was the one who did not see the “good qualities” I possess, and that he was the one who stand to lose more than I did.

Success is determined not by whether or not you face obstacles, but by your reaction to them. And if you look at these obstacles as a containing fence, they become your excuse for failure. If you look at them as a hurdle, each one strengthens you for the next.”― Ben Carson

I gathered my strength and never looked back. I am crossing my hurdles one at a time on my journey to success. You can do it too!!

Leave a comment